For those of you who’ve never met me in person or just never noticed, I am not a clotheshorse!  Neither am I a fashionista by any means.  I’m not saying that I dress like a slob, I’m just not fashionable.  So that’s where television and friends come into play.

One of my favorite shows on TLC is What Not to Wear with Stacy London and Clinton Kelly.  I think the main reason I love this show is that I get to learn what they learn.  I can take away the tips for dressing that the two of them give the unsuspecting “clients” and put them to use in my own life.  And it’s great to see the true transformation in these people.  Stacy and Clinton give them back a pride in themselves and help them see that they truly are worth putting the bit of effort into dressing.  Not to mention, some of the final makeovers are just stunning to see!

I also take a lot of clues from friends.  I take notes on what’s in style, quasi based on what I see others wearing and quasi what looks good on them too.  Now, if you want someone to follow as far as a blog, I can definitely recommend my stylish friend, Sarah Gilliland.  This new mom of twins majored in apparel merchandising at Auburn University and always seems to be well-dressed, whatever the occassion.  Today’s blog post actually inspired this post and has a couple of things to look for in next season’s styles.  So check her out now and go head and be following her blog so you get a heads up on what all is going to be in style for the fall!

So what is my own personal style?  I suppose I confess that while we’re on the subject.  I don’t necessarily have a very definitive one, but if I were to name it, I suppose it’d be “casual professional” for the most part.  Now, if I’m left to my own devices, it’s jeans and a t-shirt of some sort (either solid cotton or printed from various sources).  However, since I do work for a living, I have to maintain some sense of knowing how to dress.  Typically, it’s a pair of slacks and a nice solid colored shirt.  I don’t really do skirts or dresses since they’re just not very practical to me.  Not to mention, hose are just not comfortable and thigh-highs aren’t much better.  So I’m not fancy but look nice enough with some classic jewelry added to polish it off.

Got any tips you’ve picked up over the years?  Anything you’re dying to ask about fashion-wise?

