So why did I start this blog?  Didn’t I already have one of those?  Who am I anyways?  You’re probably asking at least one of those questions right about now!  So here are a few answers for you…

The simple stuff first:  I was born and raised in Montgomery, Ala.  My parents have been married longer than I’ve been alive, and I’ve been married since January 2010.  I have a sister and a brother, both married with 1-year-old daughters.  My brother has a son due Nov. 5.

The artistic stuff next:  I’ve sung at church all my life, was in Girls Chorus for a year, and have had voice lessons off and on.  (No, I’m not very good at it, just “OK” usually.)  I took piano privately for four years and at school for one of those years.  I played clarinet in the band for two years in junior high, but that was when I developed a love of theatre.  My mom would take me with her many Friday nights to work in the kitchen of the Faulkner University Dinner Theatre.  We’d get to eat and see the show for free in return.  So after doing that all through junior high, in high school I studied Musical Theatre at the magnet school.  In college, one of my best friends talked me into auditioning and I got hooked on acting for real.  Since then, I’ve been involved with over 62 productions, either on stage or off, including directing three.

The customer service stuff finally:  I’ve worked for a professional theatre (Alabama Shakespeare Festival/ ASF), a movie theatre (Carmike Cinemas) and a retail jewelry store (Claire’s).  I’ve run the gamut when it comes to customers.  My first day on the phones at ASF I had Mr. Blount himself call!  (As in, Wynton and Carolyn Blount who donated the land it sits on.)  My manager and I actually caught a lady trying to shoplift at Claire’s one Friday night.  And of course, Carmike saw everything in between with all the different movies our eight screens showed.  One of the things I’ve learned is that the saying “the customer is not always right, but they are always the customer” is really important in dealing with customers and patrons.  (I’ll share some other gems from through the years as we go along.)

My life has also been about education all along, mixed in with a desire to help others.  I have a degree in Secondary Education with an emphasis in English/Language Arts and have worked in higher education for almost 10 years now.  I’d love to get a Masters in Professional Counseling and work with at-risk young women, but think I may pursue a Masters in Professional Writing for now.  I think most anything to do with helping people communicate and understand and learn really gets my interest and is something I have a heart for!

That’s just a bit about me, but feel free to ask questions…

